I’m constantly setting goals for myself. Not great ambitious ones but little pointless ones. For example, today I decided to become ambidexterous. No easy feat, seeing as how I’m barely dexterous in the first place. Requires much patience and dedication, two concepts that I have so far managed to avoid successfully.

But this time it’s different…I think. So starting today I’m making an effort to write with my left. So as pointless goals go, there is an elaborate reasoning behind it all as well as a multi-step plan to chart my progress.

First, be legible. I think I passed that on the first try.

first try

first try

Not bad, I’ve achieved something already. Next step is to conquer spacing and neatness. The final levels of achievement are speed and comfort. If I can write as fast and as effortlessly as I do with my right hand, I am gold.

by the end of the day

by the end of the day

So here’s to pointless progress.

As an aside: its interesting reading about the etymology of the word dexterous. It basically means being right handed as opposed to a sinistral or lefthanded. So if you’re not dexterous, you’re sinister…yikes. So the next time you run into a lefty at the bank or maybe a supermarket, I suggest you point straight at his hand and declare “SINISTER!” Because people need to be warned.

